When you first create an Organization, a team called
developers is created.
developers team is a special team. While it can be deleted
if you so choose, by default it acts as a "catch-all"
team. This means:
developersteam by default
developersteam has write access to all new Organization-scope package publishes
The effects of deleting the team are covered below.
You may delete the developers team. If you do, newly added Organization members will not be added to any teams by default. Additionally, you will not be able to see all users in your org from the CLI, as one can only view the members of a team via the CLI.
You should also note that upon publish, in the absence of a
team, it is difficult to determine who should be set as maintainers
of that package. npm will do its best to fallback to another
Organization team that the publisher is a member of. This is not
If you've removed the developers team, but now want it back, you can
reinstate it by creating a new team called
developers (case sensitive!).
You will need to add all current members of the Organization to the
developers team, but, going forward all newly added Organization
members will be automatically added to the new
Last modified February 29, 2016 Found a typo? Send a pull request!