Downgrading to a free user account plan

Note: This article only applies to users of the public npm registry.

If you have a paid user account, but no longer need private packages, you can downgrade your paid Org to a free Org. When you downgrade from a paid to a free Org, you will lose the ability to install and publish private packages at the end of your last paid billing cycle. Your private packages will not be made publicly visible when you downgrade to a free plan.

  1. Log in to npm with your user account. npm login dialog with username and password fields filled in
  2. In the upper right corner of the page, click your profile picture, then click Billing Info. profile dropdown menu with billing information element selected
  3. Under “change plan”, click Downgrade Plan. downgrade plan button
  4. Under “Are you sure?”, click Downgrade to a free account. downgrade to a free account confirmation button

< Updating user account billing settings