Skip to content

Downgrading to a free organization plan

Note: This article only applies to users of the public npm registry.

If you are a subscriber to the npm Teams product (you have a paid organization) and you are an owner of the organization, then you can downgrade from npm Teams to a free organization. When you downgrade from a paid to a free organization, you and your organization members will lose the ability to install and publish private packages at the end of your last paid billing cycle. Your private packages will not be made publicly visible when you downgrade to a free plan.

Note: If you would like to pay for fewer seats, you can remove members from your organization by following the steps in "Removing members from your organization".

  1. Log in to npm with your user account.
    Screenshot of npm login dialog
  2. In the upper right corner of the page, click your profile picture, then click Profile Settings.
    Screenshot of profile settings selection in user menu
  3. In the left sidebar, click the name of the organization you want to downgrade.

    Screenshot of a selected organization
  4. On the organization settings page, click Billing.
    Screenshot of the organization billing tab
  5. Under "change plan", click Downgrade Plan.
    Screenshot of the downgrade plan button
  6. Under "Are you sure?", click Downgrade to a free account.
    Screenshot of the downgrade plan confirmation